The Cherokee Maidens & Sycamore Swing - Ride Again - Whe The Cowboy Sings

Vaya al Contenido

Menu Principal:

The Cherokee Maidens & Sycamore Swing - Ride Again

The Cherokee Maidens & Sycamore Swing - Ride Again

Track list
Route 66
Be Here Now
Pastures of Plenty
Just Because
I Hear You Talkin’
Standing by the Bedside
Belle of the Plaine
Okie Dokie
Made from Scratch

The Cherokee Maidens and Sycamore Swing have just issued a fantastic new CD as a follow-up to their wonderful initial CD that was titled with the group names. The album of 11 tunes have The Cherokee Maidens, a trio of Jennifer Melcher, Robin Macy and Monica Taylor Johnson in the vocal spotlight. Sycamore Swing is comprised of Kentucky White on guitars and mandolin, the fiddles of Shelby Eicher and Rob Loren and the enjoyable steel guitar of Steve Bagsby. Other members of this top class band are Jimmy Campbell- Dobro, Jordan Bollig- bass, Kirk Russell- drums, Mike Cameron- tenor sax, Brad Turgen- trumpet and Susan Mayo- cello.

The album opens with Bobby Troup's classic Route 66 and then follows with a Cherokee Maidens original, Be Here Now. Other originals penned by the group are Belle of the Plaine, Made From Scratch and the future hit Okie Dokie. They borrow Pastures of Plenty from Woody Guthrie and folk music and Just Because from the Shelton Brothers. They remade beautifully Cindy Walker's I Hear You Talkin' and included the inspirational Standing By the Bedside. Flutter is borrowed from Colin Boyd and the album closes with a wonderful version of Ray Noble's big band standard Cherokee, arranged by fiddle player Shelby Eicher.

This album and their previous CD album can be obtained for $15 per CD or both for a bargain price of $25. Add $2 additional for postage. They are available on iTunes or by sending check to: Robin Macy, Bartlett Arboretum, P.O. Box 871, Belle Plaine, Kan. 67013

Mike Gross, KSEY-FM, Seymour, TX & KTNK-AM, Lompoc, CA
October 19, 2015
Cherokee Maidens
Route 66
Cherokee Maidens
Just Because
Regreso al contenido | Regreso al menu principal